God ain’t your grand daddy

Grand Pa the kind loving figure,who always has a gift for you,cuddles you,tells you these amazing stories whilst sitting on his lap.Smells a bit funny but always feels safe in his arms.I remember my Grand dad,always felt protected around him he could even defend me against my parents and they listened it was great.A certain familiarity,able to shape him and perhaps manipulate him a bit with a smile.

Recently a post caught my eye in passing and I was engaged .Now this was a writer who wears their heart on their sleeve,more like myself probably why I was attracted to their content in the first place.The more I read the more I related to them,what was interesting though was how they had managed to twist the image of God to fit around a fix for the troubles they faced.It was apparent they wanted to have things their way and when that didn’t go the way they thought  excuses were made for God as to why he didn’t meet their expectations , Scriptures were quoted out of context to fit the results hoped for.

I mean this thing read like a blueprint for God to follow in fixing  the challenges of their life.

Then I had a  Luke 15v20 And when he came to himself…… I had a moment of truth

Beating the Pharisees at their own righteousness game:  Matt 5 v 20 For I say unto you, That except your righteousness shall exceed the righteousness of the scribes and Pharisees, ye shall in no case enter into the kingdom of heaven.

I was ashamed of myself at how judgemental I was and how self righteous I had been.My perfect self, roaming around passing judgement on others,how dare I?Then I read some of my own writing and oh boy that did it.It was time to confess. I was being hypocritical.

Later on I started to think, I mean really think, on how I react to my own trials,it was a time to have a sit down with my black handsome self and have a little chat.

In my trials I went from being SELF RIGHTEOUS which then gave me a sense of SELF ENTITLEMENT which only served  to get me into the WILDERNESS and the length of time in this dry place promoted my PRIDE and in the end after not getting my way and what I wanted, I was just angry,angry,angry  ANGER. 

In Steps my:

SELF RIGHTEOUSNESS:My judgement of others led me to believe that I was somehow better than others.After all I never put God in a box,I am strong,a lesser man would have blown his brains up,look at this fella crying here if he only knew what I am up under in here,I am still worshipping in the midst of my trial really Limbiley? I mean really?

SELF ENTITLEMENT:My established notion of being “better” made me special right off,so I am owed   something,meaning I could pick and choose the blessings I want after all I am better and owed something,a reward is due to me for being good, mmmhhhh!!!! But God don’t owe you nothing( excuse the lingo).

THE WILDERNESS: Imagine my surprise when ended up in here,oh the dryness,the heat,the vultures picking at my beat up flesh,thorns on my sides,oh ya all don’t know what am talking about.This was the bareness of trying to do things my way and the symbol of the desert like condition of my soul.A complete reflection and oh did it mirror my state of affairs.
 

IN A PROUD STATE:

my refusal to be apologetic

my refusal to be humble

my refusal to be ashamed of my failed self efforts

my refusal to take responsibility of such failed efforts (it wasn’t me)

my refusal to see what I was doing wrong.

 

THEN THE ANGER: The result of the proud person in me not getting the thing they wanted,not getting my way.I must have thought I was Sinatra.Now I am just mad and bitter.

I believe most of us go through these stages in our lives,when we think God ought come and pull us out,and why has he allowed this to happen?oh Bless me Lord!!fix my husband Jesus,I put this boss of mine in your hands heavenly father,God!!!!I bless my enemies!!! really saints? I mean really?Foaming at the mouth and throwing fits,all up in tears all emotional,hear my cry oh Jehovah!!!!

The trouble with us believers is believing that OUR TROUBLES OBLIGATE GOD when they in fact  do not.

That’s right YOUR TROUBLE DOES NOT OBLIGATE GOD.Now he will get you out but you got  to recognize its all because of JESUS and God’s GRACE (john 1v15-17) .Its through God’s GRACE that anything good happens to us.We live in an evil world full of evil things and evil situations inhabited by people that do evil.Evil is all around us. Eph 5v15-16 Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.

By GRACE you were saved through faith,not by your works,undeserved & unmerited, not your doing Eph 2v8.

By GRACE you are able to cry to God and make your petitions known through prayer.

By GRACE you are able to do great signs and wonders like Stephen in Acts  6v8.    

By GRACE you are strengthened in your weakness.It is when his power is made perfect in weakness 2 cor 2v8-9.    

 

 

I could go on.This is the right dose of  reality and truth needed for our approach to God for a fruitful 2014.Just what the Doctor ordered.Get what you really need and not what you want.Get wisdom and in your getting get understanding.Live stress free and content and have confidence in approaching God the right way.Most of all have the proper attitude and reverence.  

 Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need. Heb 4v16 

Just Remember GOD AIN’T YOUR GRAND DADDY.

11 thoughts on “God ain’t your grand daddy

  1. You speak openly and with passion. What a refreshing change of pace. So many want to hide behind a carefully crafted ruse and pretend to be what they hoped for without putting in the effort. I think you have this “be real” thing licked.

    A Servant

  2. “By GRACE you were saved through faith,not by your works,undeserved & unmerited, not your doing Eph 2v8.
    By GRACE you are able to cry to God and make your petitions known through prayer.
    By GRACE you are able to do great signs and wonders like Stephen in Acts 6v8.
    By GRACE you are strengthened in your weakness.It is when his power is made perfect in weakness 2 cor 2v8-9….”
    God’s grace really is a wonderful thing. And God never runs out of it. 🙂 Thanks for liking one of my posts and for following. May our amazing God continue to give us wisdom as we write for His glory this 2014!

  3. As a Child we come to The Lord Trusting and fully dependent, seeking Him with all our heart and as we do we repent of all the sin we have done that Hurt Him, others and ourselves and we never forget we were saved by His Grace and we show we are in our lives but not because we have to but because we want to, we Love God and do not want to hurt Him or others anymore and so we are set free in Christ Jesus to never do so again intentionally.

    The Above was your heart words Limbiley, as I read your written words, I felt them in my heart, God’s Truth overflowed, Thank you for sharing God’s words of Truth that comes from The Spirit of Love .

    We also take to heart that it is not Love to watch others continue to sin in the Church and not warn them, it’s apathy, or fear of rejection but we do so in Love and for Love and we remember as we rebuke and warn them, that we too were responsible for killing Jesus, our sin killed an innocent person and it grieved greatly our Heavenly Father, as He watched us torturer His Son to death and He was also torn in two, as His beloved Son was snatched away from Him because of our sin.

    Sin kills all the goodness in us, as does resentment and bitterness and it gives Satan a foothold. But how can we Love those who have hurt us deeply, how can we really forgive them, we can’t, not in the carnal flesh, we have to put it to death by choosing to walk in The Fruit of The Spirit and than we will be empowered by Him to do so and to really Love and Forgive as we ask for His grace to overflow us.

    Romans 8:12-15 Therefore, brothers, we have an obligation but it is not to the sinful nature, to live according to it. or if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.

    1John 4:17-19 Herein is our Love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

    Christian Love Always Limbiley, from both of us – Anne.

    • Thank you as ever,I know a lot will benefit from your truth in the word always confirmed by scripture.
      The truth the whole truth and nothing but……..

      God bless.

      • Thank you for your encouragement Limbiley, you are a very respectful and supportive young Man, so many put other people down, I’m not talking about correcting error or warning those who sin but even with these it must not be by our agenda, we need God’s confirmation in the Scripture.

        God tells us to test the Spirit of those who teach us and we do this by confirming God’s Truth in what they teach and by their honesty and their Love, which is shown in their actions and words. We refer to 1Corinthians13.

        But we all have weaknesses,shortcomings and faults and these we must not judge about others or we are seeing our own reflection, even with the plank in our eye.

        I hold onto also, the Truth that if we think negative about others we will become negative ourselves, instead we look for their strengths and overlook their weaknesses and shortcomings but if they deliberately hurt us, we do what God tells us to do, we go to them and seek to resolve our hurt the same with our differences in regard to His Truth, we do not agree to disagree, this is not God’s way and besides it never works, just look at all the Denominations today which Paul warned against, we follow God, not man.

        Thanks again – Christian Love from both of us – Anne

Leave a Reply

