….stay strong for 5 more minutes.

“Keep watching and praying that you may not enter into temptation; the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” -Jesus Christ-

Aaahh!! yes the flesh is indeed weak.This particular text comes from a time where the disciples were sleeping instead of keeping watch with Jesus while he went to pray,just an hour past and yes, they were fast asleep.This got me thinking as I reflected my own dilemma to a situation that transpired on the weekend.In my quest for answers I engaged a muse(and I bet she is smiling now as she reads this……. ūüôā ). I also meditated,pondered,prayed and procrastinated on ¬†the temptation to act.

I always find it easier to use illustrations to make or at least to try and make a point, but still putting the idea across,so please if you would indulge me:

If you have ever bought a car used or new, perhaps one of the important things is specs,among other things.

Anyway specs,follow me here, the car is as beautiful as a car can be, the body work is flawless in its design,the paint work is marvellous,the head lights which are the eyes and the windows to the soul are as piercingly bright as they are engaging.You get on board and are met with the aroma,that essence that just gives you peace,the interior is leather,all black and sitting there you say to yourself ¬†“I belong here,its a match made in heaven” ¬†¬†

Once a  wisemen said all that glitters in not gold so then I proceed to examine the engine,the car is started up and the engine being the brain essentially is just as flawless as the bodywork.Even the sound which is the voice is like that of a singing angel. Oh I must have this car.

My soul, wait thou only upon God; for my expectation is from him  (psalms 62 v 5) 

The natural impulse is to try and get this car straight up,though the scripture above would have me be sure and wait a bit.Further more whether I get it or not depends on the negotiations with the dealer (that’s the other tricky part see?) but all I know is I need a car.

“The opportunity to secure ourselves against defeat lies¬†in our own hands, but the opportunity of defeating the enemy is provided¬†by the enemy himself.‚ÄĚ -Sun Tzu-

I heard this story about a confederate general in American civil war.The numbers were even,skills were equal so were the weapons used, death was all around but in the end his side was victorious.Later when asked how he was able to win a battle that was so evenly matched. All he had to say was “we held and pressed on for 5 minutes longer” ¬†

My car illustration serves as something you want in life a dream,a holiday destination,a different job, whatever.I don’t want this for evil on the contrary,and it is within my grasp.

Make no mistake whatever obstacle you have in your life towards your dream is an enemy and should be treated as such.Learn the importance of waiting for right time.You know you best,but no one knows you better more, than God knows you,God has better on your best.So be diligent and wait on God’s perfect timing but knowing this however is a challenge in itself.

Even in the world these ideas are reflected again by Sun Tzu who said:

“He who is prudent and lies in wait for an enemy who is not,will be victorious.”

Note the order of the words (i)Prudent: acting with or showing care and thought for the future                                                                       (ii)waiting          (iii)victory.

In my situation there was nothing wrong with wanting the car but when you operate in the flesh you are at danger of falling asleep, picked apart by vultures and making mistakes. My dilemma falls in the balance do I get the car or do I not? I understand the importance of perseverance but I also know the danger of too much self effort that lacks guidance. 

Apostle Paul nailed it best:

“The flesh lusteth against the Spirit, and the Spirit against
the flesh; and these are contrary the one to the  other; so
that ye cannot do the things that ye would.” Gal 5 v 17.

There is always going to be conflict,I need some answers here,this struggle puts me at risk of being indecisive for sometimes inaction is in fact a form of taking action and I may see my dream car being driven off by another buyer.What do you do when you don’t know what to do.¬†

In the meantime  do I go and get mine? or do I wait? what if that which I want to get  gets got? (pardon the lingo).   

In my quest to victory I………¬†

stay strong for 5 more minutes. 

17 thoughts on “….stay strong for 5 more minutes.

  1. Ooooh I loved reading this post, there are so many wonderful points, too many to rewrite but the magic of those 5 minutes is everything! “inaction is in fact a form of taking action” so very true. I honestly believe that there is power is silence, prayer and waiting (excruciating as it can be ūüôā – Nevertheless, this was great, thanks xxx

  2. I like the analogy that you used, and I work through things in a way very similar to the way you do. All of the comments were good, too. I would pray and unless you are suddenly checked by the Spirit go ahead. It really is all about the attitude of the heart. Pray the Lord’s prayer slowly while meditating on each line, and take note of this part:

    “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.”

    It’s that willingness to accept the Lord’s will even if His answer should be “No, my child, not ever.”.

    Blessings,

    Theresa

    • Firstly let me thank you for both stoping by and for putting me at ease I thought I was the only one who operated this way

      Then you put it best “unless you are suddenly checked by the Holy Spirit go, ahead” this is true

      The hard part is hearing and accepting the “no, not ever my child” part.

  3. The Spirit led life…often imitated but never duplicated. A human led life, however well intentioned, pales in comparison to the riches the Spirit led life offers.
    A Servant

  4. A perfect post to read for me today. Sometimes waiting makes perfect sense. A better thing happens in five minutes. Leaving the house five minutes later than planned only to go down the road and pass a major accident that just happened, and could have involved you… Things like this happen all the time. The main thing is find peace in situations and pray over situations. If, after praying, you have the peace you know is from the Lord, then act. Thanks for this post today, it blessed me.

    • True sometimes all it takes is pausing for a minute,the wait in itself while you are waiting for something can seem like a lifetime though,but you raise a good point,its all about if you have peace after prayer then you act,

      Thanks for the reminder.

  5. After spending a few days feeling defeated..as I was battered for my steps and work to complete..being a nurse..I have seen the enemy attack..and as the bus broke down, my book bag broke, soda exploded in my bag…and the temperature dropped and I forgot my coat…I thought..hang on..keep hanging on..you are where you need to be..the enemy just wants you to forget..you are God’s…and you are exactly..not deviated..or off course..exactly where you need to be…

Leave a Reply

