What do you do when God says marry a prostitute

Reading the Old Testament can be heavy reading though illuminating and none is more so than the book of Hosea in which Hosea’s marriage is used as a symbolic synonymous thing to the situation with Israel at the time around 772 BC.

 

Hosea was a Prophet who among other things was directed to marry a, lets just say. not a very faithful woman.He subsequently divorces her for infidelity and goes about his business preaching and prophesying.Having been separated from her husband she has got herself into more mess somewhere doing what she does best.And one day Hosea is just minding his own as one does he hears from the lord again;”Hey hosey,you know that ex wife of yours? the one that was always running around on you? yeah her,well look here go get  her back and not only that you got to pay top dollar for her as well“. whooo!!! whoah!!! I mean back up a little bit here,today thats the equivalent of buying your no good ex from her pimp and on top of that we learn Hosea took the decision not to be intimate with her(there is a point to why I mention this).

 

what do you do when God says marry a prostitute,really, let that sink in for minute,…………..no longer than that,I said a minute let that sink in and settle for a little bit.

 

The scripture says: 

The Lord said to me, “Go, show your love to your wife again, though she is loved by another man and is an adulteress. Love her as the Lord loves the Israelites, though they turn to other gods and love the sacred raisin cakes.”So I bought her for fifteen shekels of silver and about a homer and a lethek of barley, Then I told her, “You are to live with me many days; you must not be a prostitute or be intimate with any man, and I will behave the same way toward you.” Hosea 3v1-3 

I know that most of this has to do with Israel and what was going on at the time  and that Hosea’s marriage was symbolic to what was going on at the time. God was using each stage to show how Israel had been unfaithful and how he would eventually restore them,however I wonder what Hosea must have been going through at this point.The people talking behind his back and all that stuff I mean the situation must have been hell for him, well,I am sure you can imagine.

 

It wasn’t until I notice something that amazed me.You and Me. We,us are infact the prostitute. Being bought back.Ah yes, that changes things a little bit doesn’t it?For the longest time we have  been Redeemed by God and Restored so many times,from situations in our lives that in each time we ended up by fault of our own,whether by bad decisions,chose to let bad people into our lives and at times fallen victim to evil people that turned our lives upside down.

In the midst of hurt and pain he still comforts us,nursing us back to health slowly but surely,replacing the stuff we lost along the way as we go,promising us hope and a good future if only as the prostitute we return back to him,this is a choice we are given,she could have stayed but she chose not to,she was wise enough to return to one who even if she done him wrong so many times,he was still willing to spend coin and crop to get her back home.

That is God for you,will you not turn and return to him?even in our unfaithfulness he remains faithful.

 

Redemption:  

The process of the verb below ;

Redeem (i) to save someone from sin, error, or evil. (ii)gain or regain possession of something in exchange for payment.

Restoration:

The act of returning something to a former owner, place, condition or state.

Often in the bible this meant not just bringing it back to the original but better,if you stole something you had to pay back more in value that was the process of restoration and  the principle remains the same.

 

Worth noting that when (Gomer ) Hosea’s wife was bought back she was told that the very thing she thought would be used to pay back her husband with(the primary thing at least) he was not interested in.I am sure with her character and mindset the only curreny she had to bargain with was her feminine charm, or so she thought.But she was shown otherwise, (won’t God change your life?)  who does that remind you of??   wanting to earn God’s goodness,news flash you ain’t got it and even if you did,he don’t want it.

 

I am hoping by now the answer is obvious but still I ask

What do you do when God says marry a prostitute?

 

 

17 thoughts on “What do you do when God says marry a prostitute

  1. My bro and sister in law named their son Hosea, and I thought they were crazy. It’s like naming your son Job or Abel or even Cain, for that matter. You don’t want to predestine them (even metaphorically) to these lives, and why on earth would you name your son after a man burdened to marry a prostitute? I will have to think about your points more and reflect.

    • Some say it’s all in the name and other names have more hidden meanings.

      Which just reminded me of names in general,most say to defeat some mythical being you have to know its name, …reminded me of Rumpelstiltskin, I have no idea why I just said that.

  2. Thank you for defining redemption and restoration – seems simple, but it was inspiring! I’ve never read Hosea in whole, but this post made me think of a song which the Scripture inspired: “Come back to me with all your heart, don’t let fear keep us apart… Long have I waited for you coming home to me and living deeply our new life.” Do you know it?
    God’s love for us, intimacy with us, is indeed deeper, more meaningful and powerful than the conjugal kind. I once rejected and even denied God. I gave myself to lesser things that were not worthy of me. But, God made me to be His own. Nothing and no one will satisfy my deepest desires and longing but the One who loves me more… And so, looking for Infinite Beauty and Eternal Truth, I found God loving me always, forgiving me and giving Himself. A sincere, loving relationship with God is truly home!
    I love your questions, Limbi, and the way you explore them! Thank you for inspiring me!

    • Hey wow,
      Sorry your comment went missing I just retrieved it,
      I inspire you? Nah you inspire me! I am just glad that someone at least enjoys my writing and finds the questions I ask insightful

      A wiseman learns a lot from a stupid question than a fool does from a clever answer- Bruce lee.

      I loved your article on who am I? BTW it was really insightful reading.

  3. You are so right Limbiley, we were the prostitute or perhaps some still are, have we come to heart repentance, which means turning away from evil and choosing to do good by the empowering of The Holy Spirit or do some continue to sin not realizing Jesus has set us free.

    John 8:34-36 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

    We remember the other woman who was caught in Adultery and was going to be stoned, after sending those who wanted to condemn her to death away with the fear of being exposed of their own sin, Jesus told her that He didn’t condemn her but also told her to go and sin no more.

    1 John 3:9 No one who is Born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been Born of God.

    We have been set free from the Slavery of sin and no Temptation to sin will be greater then we can bear, Jesus provides the escape, He is our Armour.

    Romans 8 :12-15 Therefore, brothers, we have an obligation—but it is not to the sinful nature, to live according to it. or if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons/daughters of God.

    1 John 3: 1-12 ( 6-7 ) Whosoever abideth in Him sinneth not: whosoever sinneth hath not seen Him, neither known Him. Little children, let no man deceive you: he that doeth righteousness is righteous, even as He is righteous.

    The last verse in Hosea Limbiley also makes this very clear and so does Daniel.

    Hosea 14: 9 Who is wise, and he shall understand these things? prudent, and he shall know them? for the ways of the Lord are right, and the just shall walk in them: but the transgressors shall fall therein.

    Daniel 12:10 Many shall be purified, and made white, and tried; but the wicked shall do wickedly: and none of the wicked shall understand; but the wise shall understand

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  4. I was thinking..when you wrote the line of the prostitute…and it hit me..that is me…God keeps coming for me..staying with me..telling me nothing is more important than Him…
    And I wander away…do what I think is best….yet God remains faithful..and keeps purifying me…
    I wonder…would we pursue another in such a way God has and is pursuing us..for healing….

Leave a Reply

